Two more testing sites to open in Brislington & Yate for community surge testing

Two extra mobile testing units will open in Bristol and South Gloucestershire tomorrow as part of the community surge testing programme introduced in response to the mutated, more infectious, variant of COVID-19 which has been identified locally.

The site in Bristol is located at the Imperial Sports Ground in West Town Lane in Brislington. The site in South Gloucestershire is located at Yate Common at Westerleigh Road.

People who live or work in specific postcodes (see below), are over 16 and do not have symptoms of COVID-19, are encouraged to get a one-off PCR test at one of the five mobile testing units. The others which opened on Sunday, are at the science park in Emersons Green, Imperial Retail Park in Hartcliffe Way and Bristol City Council Rapid Testing Centre in Wellington Road, St Judes.

All the sites are now opening from 9am to 6pm, seven days a week.

Additional testing aims to identify asymptomatic cases of the virus, help health experts identify where the mutation is present locally and enable people to isolate if their result is positive.

Christina Gray, Director of Public Health at Bristol City Council and Sara Blackmore, Director of Public Health at South Gloucestershire Council, said: “We strongly encourage people to get a one-off test at their nearest site to help us learn more about the variant and reduce local infection rates.

“This is additional community surge testing that will take place over the next couple of weeks to really enhance our local efforts. We’re also asking employers in the specific postcodes to encourage their employees to get a test if they are eligible.”

If you have had a positive test result in the past 90 days you do not need to take a test.  

The postcode sectors

BS1 3 (Stokes Croft
BS2 0 (Easton)
BS2 8 (Cotham)
BS2 9 (St Pauls)
BS3 5 (Bedminster)
BS4 4 (Brislington)
BS5 0 (Easton, St George, Whitehall)
BS5 6 (Eastville)
BS5 7 (St George)
BS6 5 (St Pauls)
BS6 6 (Redland)
BS8 2 (Clifton)
BS8 3 (Clifton, only within city council boundary)
BS9 4 (Henleaze)
BS14 0 (Hengrove, only within city council boundary)
BS14 9 (Hengrove)
BS16 1 (Broomhill)
BS16 2 (Downend & Fishponds)
BS16 3 (Fishponds)
BS16 5 (Mangotsfield)
BS16 6 (Mangotsfield)
BS16 7 (Mangotsfield)
BS16 9 (Mangotsfield)
BS37 8 (Yate)