Lib Dems’ Steve Webb loses Thornbury & Yate seat to Conservative Luke Hall

Luke Hall

Luke Hall

Luke Hall is the new Conservative MP for Thornbury & Yate after narrowly beating Steve Webb who had been the local Lib Dem MP since 1997.

Mr Hall, 28, won with 19,924 votes – a 41% share. Mr Webb, who went into the fight with a majority of more than 7,000, polled 18,429 votes.

Mr Webb, who was the Pensions Minister in the Coalition Government, won the seat for the Lib Dems in 2010, having previously held the Northavon seat since 1997, the year he overturned Conservative John Cope’s 11,000+ majority.

The turnout in the constituency, which includes the Boyd Valley (Wick and Pucklechurch), was 73.7%, slightly down on 2010.

Thornbury & Yate result

Luke Hall (Conservative) – 19,924
Steve Webb (Lib Dem) – 18,429
Russ Martin (UKIP) – 5,126
Hadleigh Roberts (Labour) – 3,775
Iain Hamilton (Green Party) – 1,316