South Glos Conservatives announce new leadership team after losing overall majority

From left, Cllr Liz Brennan, Cllr Erica Williams & Cllr Sam Bromiley

The South Gloucestershire Conservatives have announced today that they have elected a new leader and deputy leader following last week’s local elections in which they lost overall control of the council.

Parkwall & Warmley councillor Sam Bromiley has been named leader of the Conservative Group, and Frenchay & Downend councillor Liz Brennan has been appointed deputy leader.

Previous Conservative group leader Toby Savage, who had represented Longwell Green, announced last month that he would not be seeking re-election.

The Tories had enjoyed an outright majority since 2015. Last Thursday they lost 10 councillors, ending up with 23 of the 61 seats. The Lib Dems now have 20 councillors, Labour have 17 and there is one Independent. With no one party in overall control, talks are under way to try to work out a way forward.

Cllr Bromiley who has been on the council for the past eight years, was the cabinet member responsible for Children and Young People during the previous administration.

He said: “I would like to thank my fellow councillors for putting their faith in me and selecting me as their group leader. I will commit my best efforts to ensuring the Conservative group continues to offer the very best to the people of South Gloucestershire.

“We can be extremely proud of everything we have achieved over the past four years, with the retention of free parking in all council car parks, hitting record recycling rates, raising attainment in schools through record investment levels and so much more. Under my leadership, I will work hard to ensure these achievements continue.

“I would also like to pay tribute to our previous leader, Toby Savage, who did such a brilliant job of leading the group and the council during his tenure.”

The Conservative group say that if they form the next administration, Cllr Erica Williams would be the deputy leader of the council.  She was the cabinet member responsible for schools in the previous administration and has served as a councillor for the past 12 years, representing Bitton & Oldland Common.